Jackson Browne

Clyde Jackson Browne (born October 9, 1948) is an American musician, songwriter and political activist who has sold over 18 million albums in the United States.

Awards and honors

As of 2022, Browne's music has received eight Grammy Award nominations.
In 2002, Browne received the John Steinbeck Award, given to artists who exemplify the environmental and social values that Steinbeck believed in.
On March 14, 2004, Browne was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame by Bruce Springsteen. On June 7, 2007, he was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.
In 2004, Browne was named an honorary Doctor of Music by Occidental College in Los Angeles for "a remarkable musical career that has successfully combined an intensely personal artistry with a broader vision of social justice." For "promoting peace and justice through his music and his unrelenting support for that which promotes nonviolent solutions to problems both nationally and internationally", Browne received the Courage of Conscience Awards from The Peace Abbey in Sherborn, Massachusetts.
In 2007, Browne was awarded the Chapin-World Hunger Year Harry Chapin Humanitarian Award.
In 2008, Browne received the NARM Harry Chapin Humanitarian Award.
In 2008, Browne received the Golden Plate Award of the American Academy of Achievement in recognition of his lifetime in the arts and dedication as a social activist. His award was presented by Awards Council member Senator Tom Daschle. In 2018, Browne received the Gandhi Peace Award from the organization Promoting Enduring Peace. He is the first artist to receive the award.


  • Jackson Browne (1972)
  • For Everyman (1973)
  • Late for the Sky (1974)
  • The Pretender (1976)
  • Running on Empty (1977)
  • Hold Out (1980)
  • Lawyers in Love (1983)
  • Lives in the Balance (1986)
  • World in Motion (1989)
  • I'm Alive (1993)
  • Looking East (1996)
  • The Naked Ride Home (2002)
  • Time the Conqueror (2008)
  • Standing in the Breach (2014)
  • Downhill from Everywhere (2021)